Elbphilharmonie hosts Metropolitaner Award

Prize honours special commitment to Hamburg Metropolitan Region
31 August 2020

The second Metropolitan Award 2020 will be presented Tuesday (September 1, 2020) in the Elbphilharmonie and coincides with the resumption of performances. The event honours people, associations, foundations and companies that have shown special commitment to the Hamburg Metropolitan Region and will be broadcast live from 7 pm on www.metropolitaner.de and on Facebook. The award is presented under the auspices of the prime ministers of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Schleswig-Holstein, Lower Saxony and Hamburg.

Good ideas and bright minds 

"We must lend more support to research, development and innovation in the metropolitan region. There is plenty of potential just waiting to be exploited for instance in artificial intelligence in medicine, new materials and substances, as well as in aviation and infection research," according to Katharina Fegebank, Senator for Science, Research and Equality in a guest article for the daily Hamburger Abendblatt. Hamburg is the second biggest city in the world's fourth largest economy and economically very successful. "If we want to retain that and continue to be one of the pacesetters of technical, social and ecological progress in future, then we should pay even more attention to and money for good ideas and bright minds and acknowledge the importance of the metropolitan region."

Live broadcast from the Elbphilharmonie

Three awards will be presented by partners, sponsors and guests including Fegebank, Schleswig-Holstein's Minister of Economics Bernd Buchholz, Lower Saxony's Minister of Europe Birgit Honé and Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania's Minister of Finance Reinhard Meyer. The jury consists of actor and musician Stefan Gwildis, actor and entertainer Yared Dibaba, and the actor and singer Caroline Kiesewetter. The ceremony will be presented by journalist Michel Abdollah. The event will be broadcast on www.metropolitaner.de and on Facebook.


Metropolitaner Nominierte
© Geschäftsstelle der Metropolregion Hamburg
Nominees for Metropolitan Award 2020